The Notary Office of Montgomery County, Ohio, is located at the Dayton Bar Association. Through the Notary Office, you can become a Notary Public or renew your notary commission.
The Notary Office is open between the hours of 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM, Monday through Friday.
If you are not a resident of Montgomery County, once you obtain your Notary Commission you will have to record your Commission in your county of residence. Please contact the Clerk of Courts office in the county in which you reside for more information.
- Butler County: (513) 887-3270
- Clark County: (937) 328-2458
- Darke County: (937) 547-7335
- Franklin County: (614) 462-3600
- Greene County: (937) 562-5040
- Hamilton County: (513) 632-8245
- Miami County: (937) 332-6855
- Preble County: (937) 456-8160
- Warren County: (937) 885-8120
- Lebanon: (937) 933-1120
What requirements are there to become a notary?
You must apply in person between the hours of 9:00am and 1:00pm Monday through Friday. You must be at least 18 years old and free of any felony convictions. You must also be registered to vote at your current address. If you are unsure if you are registered to vote, please check with the Board of Elections at 451 W. Third St., in Dayton or call 937-225-5656.
The application fee is $70.00. Fees may be paid by cash, check or major credit card at the time the application if filled out.
YOU MUST ALSO BE PRE-REGISTERED AT LEAST 10 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR TEST DATE. CONTACT THE DBA NOTARY OFFICE WITH ANY QUESTIONS.
I want to apply for my notary for the first time. What do I do?
After completing the application forms and paying the fee, you will receive a Notary Guidebook and given a date and time to appear for the test. Tests are usually held the fourth Friday of the month. If you find you are unable to keep the scheduled appointment please contact the Notary office at 937.222.7902 to reschedule.
What do I do after I pass the test?
When you take the test for your notary you will be given a date to pick up your commission providing you pass the test. You will need to go to the Notary Office to pick up your commission and be sworn in. Afterwards you will need to take your commission to the Montgomery County Clerk of Courts Office to be recorded. At that time you will be charged a $15.00 fee.
How will I know I passed the test?Letters will be mailed to those who fail the test. If you do not receive a letter, you will come back to the Notary Office after the date you were given at the time of the test.
How do I renew my notary commission?
You may start the notary process 60 days prior to your expiration date by coming into the Notary office to complete a new application. The cost to renew your Notary Application is $70.00. Within four to six weeks, a new commission will be received from the Ohio Secretary of State at the Dayton Bar Association. After picking up your new commission, you must take it to the Montgomery County Clerk of Courts office to be recorded. The Clerk of Courts office will charge you a $15.00 recording fee. Please note that once your commission expires you will not be able to notarize documents until your new commission has been recorded with the Clerk of Courts office.
Can I notarize anywhere in Ohio or just in the county I received my commission in?
Once you become a notary you may notarize a document anywhere in Ohio.
If I move out of State, can I still use my commission?
Your commission is not transferable and may not be used in other states.
What if I am an attorney, do the same rules apply?
If you are an attorney licensed in Ohio, with an active Ohio Supreme Court number, you must be a resident of Montgomery County, or have a business address in Montgomery County. You can also be a resident of another state with a business address in Montgomery County and licensed by the state to practice law in Ohio. The application fee is $35.00 for DBA members and $50.00 for non-members. An attorney’s commission is good for life, as long as the attorney is registered in good standing to practice law with the Ohio Supreme Court.